Publicado por: RedClyde | sexta-feira, 12 dezembro 2008

Tales of a Lowly Commoner – Tale I

– The Case of the Troubled Maiden –

One fine day I was walking along the road connecting the cozy village that was my humble home to a wonderful little town nearby. I was running a little errand, you see, and this far into the country there were no carriages to take you between places. Ha! And even if there was, this lowly commoner wouldn’t have been able to afford it.

Certain minute of this certain day, as I made my way back to town, I spotted a figure up ahead on the road. At first I thought it was a thief, but then I saw that, in fact, it was a maiden in a beautiful silk dress. And she looked worried. My friend, I am but a lowly commoner, but I know a look of worry when I see one!

I approached this young woman, noticing that she was fiddling about, as if looking for something.

“Madame,” I said, getting her attention, “the sun is high, the sky is clear, and the wind is calm! What seems to be troubling you on this brightest of days?”

“Perhaps you can help me find what I’m looking for, good sir!”

“Please! I deserve not such a title! I am but a lowly commoner, traveling from here to there, there to here, simply running an errand. But what exactly have you lost, m’lady? Money? Or an earring, perhaps?”

“Actually, it is my sister’s wedding ring. She is to be wed soon, you know. I… seem to have lost it, though. I don’t know what I’ll do if I don’t find it. No, I don’t know what she’ll do if I don’t find it! Please, help me!”

“By the gods! Of course I will! I’d rather lose me hand over disrupting a wedding! For if I refuse to help, I am playing part in destroying someone else’s happiness, and what gives me that right? Ma’am, I am but a simple commoner, but if my services will help then I will gladly give them.”

I crouched down and started looking through the grass for the aforementioned ring. The maiden offered to help me, but I refused.

“And dirty your beautiful silk dress? I’d first walk barefoot for a month than to have that happen! Please, there’s no need.”

I continued my search, more carefully this time. The maiden instructed me, pointed me to where she had walked last before losing it. I searched the area thoroughly but could not find any ring.

“If I may ask, what exactly did this ring look like?”

“It had gold and silver streaks on the side and a sparkling green emerald in the middle.”

It was then I spotted it. In the place I would last look! And apparently the last place she would look, as well.

“Fair maiden, would it be that ring there, on your finger?”

The young woman looked down, surprised, at her finger. She quickly started apologizing for making me search, that she had forgotten she had put it on to try it.

“Nay,” I brushed off, “It is I, who should be apologizing.”

“What? How so?”

“I should have spotted it earlier and saved us both some time! But, it is good that this lowly commoner could help you, m’lady.”

“Thank you. I’ll talk to my sister, she’ll reward you for–”

“Please, please,” I interrupted, “this calls for no extra reward. Simply knowing that I was of some help is reward enough for this peasant!”

“Ok,” she said, “Thank you, truly.”

The woman turned and began walking down the road. A charming lass, that she was.

“Well, time to get back to my little errand. Even lowly commoners have to eat, you know!” I said as I patted my stomach and started walking towards town once more.

Deixe um comentário

Categorias

